Breaking News

Soroka earns record-setting election win

Masha Scheele

Conservative Party candidate Gerald Soroka dominated the Yellowhead riding with 82.3 per cent of the popular vote on Oct. 22.

That’s a record-setting high vote percentage for any candidate in the Yellowhead since its creation in 1979, eclipsing the previous high of 77.03 per cent achieved by Rob Merrifield in the 2011 general election.

“I want to thank all the voters for coming out and casting their ballot and giving me the mandate to represent them in Ottawa,” said Soroka, noting he felt fairly comfortable going into the night.

“I’ve gone across the riding to talk to voters, and listened to their concerns. I knew I had a lot of support but I was surprised at how much support I eventually got.”

First on Soroka’s mind, as he noted throughout his campaign, is getting the economy back on track and ensuring a stable job market across all industry sectors. He thanked his fellow candidates for their hard work during the campaign period.

Kristine Bowman of the New Democratic Party (NDP) earned 6.9 per cent of the vote, followed by Liberal Jeremy Hoefsloot (5.2 per cent), Douglas Galavan of the People’s Party (2.9 per cent), Angelena Satdeo of the Green Party (2.2 per cent), Libertarian Cory Lystang (0.4 per cent), and Gordon Francey of the Veterans Coalition Party (0.2 per cent).

Out of 74,005 registered electors in Yellowhead, 74.27 per cent cast their ballot in the federal election this year, which is the highest voter turnout recorded in the Yellowhead riding by Elections Canada.

Elections Canada stated that the 2019 federal election had a voter turnout of 65.95 per cent, which is down since the federal election in 2015 when they recorded a voter turnout of 68.3 per cent across Canada. The 2015 voter turnout was the highest since 1993, according to Elections Canada.

“The one downside to the night was that overall the party didn’t do as well as we’d hoped,” he said.

The Conservative Party won 121 seats, while the Liberal Party of Canada ultimately took 157 seats to form the next minority government.

Bloc Québécois followed in third with 32 seats, while the New Democratic Party took 24 seats.