Breaking News

Nominations for County Mayor closed

Masha Scheele

A new county mayor will be elected on Dec. 16 following the resignation from the previous mayor, Gerald Soroka, who stepped into his new role as the region’s MP.

Nomination day for the general election closed on Monday, Nov. 4, and six candidates put forth their names.

Candidates include Jim Eglinski, Doug Elzinga, Fred Glober, Gloria Macdonald, Wayne Murphy, and Jack Williams.

Advanced voting will be available this year with locations of voting stations, advanced voting procedures, and special ballot procedures yet to be announced by the county’s office.

Canadian residents of Yellowhead County over 18 can vote in this election, given they provide authorized identification.

The official election day is set for Dec. 16, held between 10 AM and 8 PM.